Drink More Water!

20 Days, 20 Tips, Farewell 20’s: #16

Day 16: Drink tons of WATER!

Okay, I was traveling a little yesterday, so I’m late on my #16 post. Whoops! Sorry guys πŸ˜‰ Better late than never! Today’s tip is to drink water, water and more water! We hear this all the time. Usually it goes in one ear and out the other for me. I used to be extremely bad about not drinking water or anything really. I dehydrated myself bad all the time,Β  because I just forgot to drink water. I get busy and distracted and think I have to get other things done and don’t take time to sit down to eat and drink. So, my solution has been to carry water with me nearly everywhere. I spend a lot of time in my car, so I make sure I have a water bottle and for long trips, two.

But, I don’t like the taste of plain water…
Yes, water is boring. So how do you drink tons of water throughout the day and not succumb to soda? Here’s what I’ve been doing. I’m not an expert, but its working slowly. One day at a time. I try to drink juice in the morning and a large glass of water with lemon. I usually have almond milk in cereal or oatmeal too (I do get vanilla almond milk though. It’s my guilty pleasure). Posh Brunette likes skim milk. I try to drink water for the first half of the day and if I get bored with it I put more lemon in it. At midday or afternoon I try to drink either plain water, lemon or orange water (yes, slice real lemons or oranges and drop them in!), a detox or juice concoction (checkout myΒ Sweet Summertime Watermelon Lemon Lime Spritzer), tea, a low calorie athletic drink or a crystal light mix. No soda. No milk. No extra sugar. Then, water for the rest of the evening and a light sports drink after evening workout (like Powerade Zero).

Like I said, I’m not an expert and I’m still exploring while on my health adventure. However, since drinking more water and adding fruit like lemons I’ve noticed a great change in my energy and skin. My skin is significantly better and I truly believe it’s due to the change in my water intake. I have less acne, my skin has a glow, feels plumper and I don’t feel like I’m going to be getting wrinkles anytime soon (ahhh at least I sure hope not!). I also sweat a lot more when I workout which is really good for the pores in your skin (gross, but true!). I have struggled with this a lot for some time. I’ve had to set myself on a schedule and force myself to have the correct amount drank by a certain time.

How much is the right amount?
From everything I’ve read it looks like the best advice I’ve seen is to drink about half your weight in oz. So, if you weigh 150 lbs, you would want to aim for 75 oz, which would be about 9 or 10 glasses a day, so I think that is reasonable.

Hope these little tips help someone. If nothing else, they are becoming a great reminder for me and are keeping me accountable! I may do another post tonight to catch up on my schedule! πŸ™‚

Drink More Water!

2 Posh Peaches
Instagram

One thought on “20 Days, 20 Tips, Farewell 20’s: #16

Leave a Reply

