20 Days, 20 Tips, Farewell 20’s: #6

Day #6: Don’t Starve Yourself!

I’ve talked a lot about eating healthy and being conscious of what you put in your body, but I don’t want this to be misconstrued. I’m a firm believer in eating PERIOD. You can not workout if you don’t have the energy from food, which includes carbs and meat. I don’t cut these out of my diet. You also need good protein and vitamins for your body to healthily recover after your workout. My husband and I try to workout before dinner, that way we can eat a good recovery meal. I usually have a snack before my workout to give me the strength and energy I need and motivation…I can’t do anything on an empty stomach.

Everyone gets on health kicks and fad diets and then of course they crash and burn. Why? Because, you can’t expect to have the energy and build up the muscles you need to workout hard, if you aren’t putting energy into your body. Salad for lunch is good, but not for every meal. Too much of anything is never good. So, don’t starve yourself. Get balanced and encourage yourself to eat protein when you are working out hard. My husband is a prime example of this. He tried, “losing weight,” by working out and cutting his food intake. Since, I’ve encouraged him to eat more substantial food and not worry about the numbers on the scale, he has gotten stronger, leaner and more muscular. He doesn’t avoid my chicken pasta meals now, because he understands it helps him to push more weight at the gym. He does drink protein shakes now after his workouts, which kind of grosses me out. But he is healthier. Not bulky, not frail, and not flabby!

Here’s to a healthier you!

2 Posh Peaches
Instagram

One thought on “20 Days, 20 Tips, Farewell 20’s: #6

Leave a Reply

