Oscar’s Big Adventure

Oscar is…how do I put this…a spoiled indoor house cat. Ha! He stays in the house 24/7, although we occasionally keep him in the garage when we have guests over. He is my only posh pet, and I like to keep him close!

Well, this past weekend he went on an adventure. There is a very large park not far from our house, and we decided we would take him there. He has a harness & leash that we have used a handful of times before (putting the harness on him alone is an ordeal). So we loaded him up & off we went.

Oscar shocked my husband & I both by doing a great job! We took him to a picnic area where no other people were (we didn’t want any large dog encounters), and he hesitantly walked around there for a little bit. After a while and lots of encouraging, he actually took to walking the trails! My husband & I couldn’t believe it, and we couldn’t stop laughing.

image
Whoa where am I?

image
What’s over there?

image
Hmm maybe this isn’t so bad.

image
Hey I could get used to this after all.

Guys, we couldn’t get over how great he did. So here are a few tips if you’re thinking about tackling the cat leash with your own posh kitty:

-Baby steps: We put the leash & harness on Oscar and took him out in smaller, safer areas several times before this (my parents’ backyard, our deck, etc). Β We have even let him wear the harness around the house to get used to it.
-Patience: Oscar is well over a year old, and this is the first time we tried this. It takes some building up to.
-Celebrate: If your cat shows any progress on a leash, that’s a great thing. If they walk even a little bit on the leash, that’s awesome!

Thanks for joining Oscar and I on this adventure!

-The Posh Brunette

Leave a Reply

